VA.PHC

Plant Health Care in Richmond, VA

Jewelweed

with one comment

So this is the poison ivy remedy plant. A couple of weeks ago someone asked me if I had heard of a plant that usually grows along with poison ivy and if you rub this plant on you, it relieves the itch. I though, ” this sounds like some old man horse crap. ”

Then a couple days later another person told me about this plant that his master naturalist dad told him about.

Turns out, it’s true. It’s called Jewelweed. It’s in the Balsaminaceae family.

Genus:
Impatiens L.

You can find it in most wet soggy soil ditches that Weedeaters and round up don’t make it too. Crack the stem and a thick juicy juice comes out. I got some poison ivy on my hand, cracked open a Jewelweed stem and rubbed the juice on my hand. I don’t have poison ivy on my hand today.

Jewelweed. Natural poison ivy remedy.

Written by vaphc

May 25, 2012 at 9:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like jewel weed. Though, I must’ve missed the spots on my left leg. None on my hands though :). Thanks, jewel weed 🙂

    Robyn :)

    May 25, 2012 at 9:04 pm


Leave a Reply

